Accessibility Tools

Alan Morris montage

Alan Morris, aka Gooner, aka Sharky.

Thank you for taking the time to take a look at my website, if you have any comments on any of the articles feel free to leave a comment.

My Nicknames.

Why am I called Gooner?

I am a big supporter of Arsenal Football Club, Arsenal's nickname is the Gunners & their supporters are called Gooners. Many years ago a friend I was talking with, called me Gooner & was overheard by other people who started to call me Gooner, this continued to the point where everyone called me Gooner & people who didn't know my name used this nickname. People in the UK generally use this nickname.

Why am I called Sharky?

In 2014 whilst having a break in Spain I was taken ill & because of my illness, I had a large part of my right leg removed. The resulting scar looks like I have been attacked by a large shark, a few friends in Spain told people that I had been attacked by a shark & once again the nickname has stuck. People in Spain generally use this nickname.

A little history about me.

In brief, I was born in Walthamstow in London & moved to Fareham in Hampshire at the age of four. I grew up in Fareham, went to school, had my first girlfriend, my first job, my first everything really, all happened in Fareham. I have also spent time living in both Orlando, Florida, USA & Los Alcázares, Murcia, Spain. I love getting out, meeting new people & trying new things.

In September 1990 I had a life-changing car accident which left me in intensive care for three months & visiting the hospital rehab unit for a year. I still have some problems related to the accident now, the loss of sight in one eye & a poor memory being a couple of them. Since then I have been trying to do some of the many things on my Bucket List. My big passion is travelling and now I have discovered escorted coach tours, I spend lots of my time planning new trips and how to spend my money when I do eventually manage to win the lottery.

After my mum became ill in 2007, I became her full-time carer. Whilst having a break from looking after my mum in 2014, I went to Spain for a week's holiday. Unfortunately, I became very ill, contracting Necrotizing Fasciitis & Sepsis. While I was in intensive care in Madrid, my mum passed away in the UK. I am still recovering from the effects of both illnesses & have now left England.

I am now living in Los Alcázares in Murcia, Spain. My Doctor agreed with me that it would be the best thing I could do for my health. The warmer weather makes it easier for my breathing & the fact that the boardwalk along the beachfront is very flat & has plenty of rest stops, means I can get some light exercise. Most days between the end of April & the start of November I go for a morning swim in the Mar Menor.

Unfortunately, in 2018 I spent 12 days in a hospital in Murcia being treated for Deep Vein Thrombosis which has meant I find it difficult to exercise again but I continue to swim when I can & I get about mainly on a disabled scooter.

In 2021, I went under the knife again having a hernia operation in the hospital. Unfortunately, after being released from the hospital too early, I had to go back to the hospital for a further 11 days to clear an infection up.

Work Experience.

I have had many jobs since I was a teenager. At the age of fourteen, I was doing a paper round, working part-time in the local paper shop cleaning the shop & stocking shelves, whilst also doing a football pools round. At fifteen I stopped working in the shop & doing the pools round & began working weekends in a local garden centre. At first, I worked in the yard as a yard boy, helping customers find what they wanted & carrying goods to people's cars for them. After being there for a while I began working inside on the tills as a cashier before leaving the week I left school. As soon as I left school I got a 3-year apprenticeship with British Gas. After completing my apprenticeship I became a Gas Service Engineer until I had a serious car accident in 1990. After this, I worked for British Gas & Transco in the offices as a clerk.

After taking redundancy from Transco, I lived in Orlando in Florida & worked cleaning swimming pools & as a taxi driver. On returning to the UK I worked as a website designer for some big companies including; The Dixon Group, Wandsworth Borough Council & several smaller clients. I worked for British Telecom trying to break their website & notifying their developers how I had done it. I also worked at Alton Sixth Form College as a Senior IT Technician. In between these bigger jobs I have worked in Asda as a customer assistant, at Travelex as a Travel Money Advisor, & at various pubs working behind the bar & have given voluntary computer lessons in the local library.

What am I doing now?

It's 2023 & I am now in my 8th year living in Los Alcázares, Murcia, Spain. After many COVID restrictions were slowly lifted last year I was able to start to scratch my travel bug itch again. This year I will be starting off as I mean to go on & have a cruise booked for February.

I have also booked to see a couple of concerts in the first half of the year. I will see Rod Stewart & the band Simply Red when they appear in concert at different times throughout the year. My sister has already booked to come out to Los Alcázares for a week, so I am looking forward to seeing her. My cousin Paul is finally marrying his long-suffering better half Sara & I am looking forward to their wedding, providing that all the strikes that are currently continuing in England let me travel to it.

I am also trying to think about what to do for Christmas & New Year in 2023. After many Christmas & New Years spent on my own I have decided to try & take a holiday over that period this year. I want to get away somewhere new, if you have any suggestions for me to get away to, please leave me a comment at the bottom of the page.

  • Week 24 of 2022. This week was a fairly quiet week & I didn't get any further than the bank in one direction & the office in the other direct ...
    396
  • Week 36 of 2021. This week starts with a morning swim & the sun is back after a few days of clouds. Friday, September 3rd. This morning the sun ...
    891
  • Week 18 of 2021. This week starts with a walk along the beach to my favourite place for a tostada, La Encarnacion hotel. Friday, April 30th. This m ...
    1041

  • Pilarmonics ladies choir. Not being very clever myself, I have managed to join a few ladies, who are very clever & do a weekly quiz. They don't m ...
    1244
  • Orlando, May 2019. In 2019 I sold one of my apartments in Florida & looked at what the cheapest way to send money back to invest in my pension fu ...
    1513
  • Bull & Whistle Barmaid. The year my dad passed away I took my mum out to Florida for five weeks. A day or so after his funeral I took her out to ...
    101

  • Chris Eubank. I met Chris Eubank in Brighton when I was at a friend's stag party. I had been invited to join my friend Richard Wickings at his s ...
    741
  •   Roger Taylor. When I lived in Orlando, I went to watch Duran Duran live at The House of Blues, in Walt Disney World. There was a group o ...
    1541
  • Mickey Spillane. I was watching a television show this week with an actor that reminded me of Stacey Keach, which in turn reminded me of the time tha ...
    1411

  • Butternut Squash & Carrot Soup. Ingredients. 100 grams of butter. One large white onion. 1 large butternut squash. 1½ litres of vegetable s ...
    1930
  • Cottage Pie. Ingredients. Minced beef 500 grams. One onion diced. 400 millilitres of beef stock. 150 millilitres of red wine. 2 tablespoons of ...
    780
  • Pig Cheeks. Ingredients. 4 pig cheeks. 150 grams of bacon bits. 250 grams of mushrooms. 1 tablespoon of plain flour 1 tablespoon of olive oil. ...
    1871

  • Maria Davies was my Great Great Grandmother, she died thirty-six years before I was born. ...
    1546
  • Gwenllian Jones was my Great Great Grandmother, she died thirteen years before I was born. ...
    1538
  • Llewelyn Morris. Llewelyn Morris was my grandfather, he died when I was still only two years old & I am sorry to say I have no memory of him at a ...
    2299

  • We checked out of our hotel in Madrid today to take the Spanish version of the bullet train to Barcelona. It was quite comfortable and a lot better th ...
    1351
  • Valencia. I got up at around 6:30 am as we were due to meet at the disembarkation point at 7:30 am. I went to a coffee bar & had a Cappucino & ...
    216
  • Carlsbad Caverns. We didn't have very long here but I did manage to get to the bottom of the main cave & back up. As hot as it was outside i ...
    1342